Monday, May 29
Latest News
  1. Fadwa Barghouthi confirms end of hunger strike after misleading report
  2. Palestinian ambassador to Poland laid to rest in hometown in Tulkarem
  3. Israeli forces detain detain 25 Palestinians in West Bank, East J'lem
  4. Palestinian man killed in brawl in Askar refugee camp in Nablus
  5. PLO slams Israeli cabinet meeting in E. Jerusalem as 'provocation'
  6. Report: Israel moves forward plan for new illegal West Bank settlement
  7. Gaza power authority says PA hasn't responded to electricity crisis
  8. Palestinian Foreign Affairs Ministry congratulates hunger strikers
  9. Palestinian prisoners' committee: 80% of hunger strikers' demands met
  10. Palestinian child rehospitalized after being injured by tear gas

Israel issues administrative detention orders against 35 Palestinian prisoners

March 13, 2017 6:57 P.M. (Updated: March 13, 2017 6:57 P.M.)
RAMALLAH (Ma’an) -- Since the beginning of March, Israeli authorities have issued 35 administrative detention orders -- Israel’s widely condemned policy of internment without charge or trial based on undisclosed evidence -- against Palestinians, including a female prisoner, the Palestinian Prisoner’s Society (PPS) said in a statement on Monday. 

While Israeli authorities claim the withholding of evidence during administrative detention, which allows detention for three- to six-month renewable intervals, is essential for state security concerns, rights groups have instead claimed that the policy allows Israeli authorities to hold Palestinians for an indefinite period of time without showing any evidence that could justify their detentions.

Rights groups say that Israel's administrative detention policy has also been used as an attempt to disrupt Palestinian political and social processes, notably targeting Palestinian politicians, activists, and journalists.

According to prisoners’ rights group Addameer, 6,500 Palestinians were detained by Israel as of January, 536 of whom were held in administrative detention.

PPS lawyer Mahmoud al-Halabi said that Israeli forces sentenced Palestinian female prisoner Ihsan Hassan al-Dababsa, 32, from the southern occupied West Bank Hebron district to six months in administrative detention. Al-Halabi noted that al-Dababsa is a former prisoner who was detained by Israeli authorities on Feb. 27.

Among the 35 Palestinians, 13 were sentenced to administrative detention for the first time. The 13 were identified by PPS as:

  • Khalid Mansour Abd al-Nabi, resident of the Hebron district, three months
  • Muhammad Ahmad Souqiya, resident of the Jenin district, three months
  • Musab Mahmoud al-Sweiti, resident of the Hebron district, three months
  • Ahmad Fayez al-Saadi, resident of the Jenin district, three months
  • Ismael Khalil al-Zir, resident of the Bethlehem district, four months
  • Walid Daoud Bustanji, resident of the Bethlehem district, four months
  • Walid Muhammad Hmeidan, resident of the Bethlehem district, four months
  • Ahmad Thiyab Barash, resident of the Ramallah district, four months
  • Yousif Mahmoud Lahham, resident of the Bethlehem district, six months
  • Khalid Jamil Shanaita, resident of the Bethlehem district, six months
  • Ismail Ahmad Hawamda, resident of the Hebron district, six months 
  • Ihsan Hassan al-Dababsa, resident of the Hebron district, six months
  • Muhammad Suleiman Sruji, resident of the Tulkarem district, six months 
Meanwhile, Israeli authorities renewed the administrative detentions of 14 Palestinian prisoners for four additional months. The prisoners were identified as:

  • Mumin Fatihi Fashafsha, resident of the Jenin district
  • Mahmoud Muhammad Salah, resident of the Bethlehem district
  • Khalid Majid Badir, resident of East Jerusalem
  • Mahmoud Khalil Ghneim, resident of the Bethlehem district
  • Said Ismail Abu Hadid, resident of the Hebron district
  • Yousif Naim Ghneim, resident of the Bethlehem district
  • Muhammad Ribhi Saleh, resident of the Bethlehem district
  • Ahmad Nasri Ibrahim, resident of the Jenin district
  • Muhammad Ibrahim Yahya, resident of the Jenin district
  • Alaa Abd al-Rahim Athim, resident of the Ramallah district
  • Amer Omar Zaroura, resident of the Nablus district
  • Muhammad Abd al-Rauf Hamid, resident of the Qalqiliya district
  • Jawdat Ahmad Mishaal, resident of the Ramallah district
  • Rafaat Mihsin Asfour, resident of the Ramallah district
Israeli authorities renewed the administrative detention of six Palestinian prisoners for six additional months. The prisoners were identified as:

  • Omar Ali al-Hih, resident of the Hebron district
  • Tariq Mahmoud Bilalu, resident of the Jenin district
  • Rami Hisham Abu Safiya, resident of the Hebron district
  • Iyad Habib Muhammad, resident of the Bethlehem district
  • Shafi Muhammad Abu Aker, resident of the Bethlehem district
  • Muin Hamdallah Hmeidat, resident of the Hebron district
Israeli authorities also renewed the administrative detention of Samara Sami Majid from Ramallah for three additional months, while the administrative detention of Issam Rashid Ashqar from Nablus was renewed for two additional months.

Powered By: HTD Technologies
Ma'an News Agency
All rights reserved © 2005-2017